As I conduct the silence, music reurges….


While I walked down these stairs

I heard the sound of silence call

Pitch pipe on my hand

Portfolio on the other

I stand up to you

And stand toward my brothers

 

I smile and you laugh silently

As the room fall still

The pitch breaks the silence

As I stand still…

A triad sounds as I place the pitch on the stand

Wave my hands

And a melody resurges

As the phoenix from the ashes

 

The sound fills the chapel

My hands flicker round

I see him smile

Into the background

As I dictate the triplet

A piano and forte sound

I close it with a cadence

The 6th chord closes

 

I nod in acknowledgement

You smile in reply…

I stand in front

While applauds break the harmonies that were given

A memory,

As well as a career, and a passion

Has been born

 

 

José Angel Clavell Acosta

December 2010

 

About theartofmusicalpoetry

I'm Jose Clavell, graduate student at Western Illinois University. Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico alumni. Choral Conductor, writer, blogger.

Posted on December 12, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Brody Middle School Spanish

An International Baccalaureate School

the teacher files.

because they don't teach you everything you need to know in college.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Penguin Blog

Thoughts and ideas from the world of Penguin

The Petrified Muse

An utterly idiosyncratic view of the world, ancient and modern, with Peter Kruschwitz

